All Sports

News Article

Awards Banquet Highlights Mesa's Outstanding Athletic Year

Banquet cake

Mesa Athletic Awards Banquet award winners

  MESA, AZ - The outstanding year that Mesa athletic teams have put together so far in 2012-13 was recognized Thursday night at the school's annual Athletic Awards Banquet.

  Major honors were given to top male and female student-athletes for both their performance in competition and in the classroom, and each sport had the opportunity to announce its Most Outstanding Players and Impact Newcomers. A complete list of all awards is available at the link above.

  Track and field's Pau Tonnensen  (So., Tempe Prep H.S.) was named the men's Most Outstanding Athlete of the year while Kerry Camberg (So., Tempe, AZ/Chapparal H.S.), of the cross country team, took home the women's award.

  The Dr. Scott Russell Scholarship Award winners for the top GAPs went to Matthew Sloan (So., Bear, Del/Glascow H.S.) from the football team  and Madison Porter (So., Tucson, AZ/Mountain View H.S.) from women's tennis.

  The MCC team with the highest GPA was women's basketball with a 3.31. They are coached by Kori Stephenson who was also named Coach of the Year.

  The softball team took home the Top Community Service Team.

  The banquet was held at Fiesta Fountains.

Mesa Community College
Maricopa County Community College District